Advice for Older Female Rider?

Dr! Still Bill

Administrator
Club Representative
(Wow! A "real" letter!)

Dear Flabby:
I'm an older female who is new to dirt bikes. I've been riding offroad now for several months and picked up my first real dirt bike this week after starting on a heavy dual sport which was a nightmare to ride.
A friend introduced me to dirt bikes earlier this year and though I was (still am) terrible, I loved the activity. My challenge is that my friend's schedule and mine differ greatly, he works weekends and I work a regular M-F schedule. So I go to croom most weekends but end up riding alone.

That's ok sometimes but I feel like it would be safer to ride with others as well as a good chance to learn from experienced riders. Do you have any suggestions on how to find or meet people or a group to ride with?

It can be intimidating because everyone I see at the park seems either fast or young or both. That makes you feel like you have no business even being there especially being an older woman out there on your own. Although I do love riding offroad and am serious about becoming a solid rider watching lots of videos on riding tips on youtube and reading what I can online.

Thank you!
-Elle

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Dear Elle;
Hello. Sounds like a serious and legit question. I set-up the Dear Flabby section as a joke for fun. I can put your letter there if you like, but it would be more appropriate for another area, like General. Are you an FTR member? If so, you can post there - let me know if you need a login ID. You letter would be well-received. If not a member yet, you need to join - sounds like you will fit right in.